Etching with Terra

I’ve had a very challenging time working with Terra, the latest Double Helix glass color. It’s tricky to pull the colors out of it, and most of the time I get browns and tans. Sometimes I’ll put a very colorful Terra bead into the kiln, only to find the next morning that it has turned out all dark brown. At other times, the colors will stay. I can’t figure out why or how to control that.

One interesting aspect of Terra is that it does not etch. I took advantage of this as a design possibility, and I’ve made beads with a base of etch-able Effetre and decorations of Terra stringers. When I etch them, the base Effetre color turns matte and the Terra stringer work stays shiny. I think they look very cool!

wmc070602a1.jpg

These are not ‘great beads’ … especially the opal yellow focal, I think it’s a little bland, and the color on the black set is … well, ferret poop as they say. But I’m going to keep going with this design and hopefully learn how to get great color from the Terra stringer work. Here are the photos:

wmc070602a2.jpg

2 Responses to “Etching with Terra”

  1. shannon Says:

    Lefthand Golf Club Hey ! Like your Blog thanks you for sharing

  2. Dennis Kolb at okpayit.com Says:

    This site was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me. Thanks a lot!


Leave a Reply

