How’d You get Here?!

Before I start working on something new, I want to take a few minutes to tell you about the people who have helped me get to this point. It’s important to recognize and honor the teachers, both official and unofficial, that have influenced my journey.

wmc070609a1.jpgI have been fortunate to be at the right place at the right time. I stumbled upon a forum called Wet Canvas! shortly after I began making beads. There was a large Glass Art group there who were more than willing to answer questions and offer inspiration to many of us who had just begun to play with glass. I spent almost as much time there as I did on the torch. It was, and is, a wonderful way to network with people I would never have met otherwise. Thank god for the internet!!

Through WC! I met Libby Leuchtman who introduced me to some of the best teachers in the bead AND jewelry making world. Libby owned Sorrella Beads in St. Louis before recently moving to Third Degree Glass Factory as the head of their flameworking department. Dustin Tabor, Stephanie Sersich and Tom & Sage Holland were my official teachers there. But Libby and her St. Louis crew taught me as much, if not more. There’s an awfully talented group of bead/jewelry folks in that part of MO and I wouldn’t be where I am today without their influences…

Michigan Cabin Glass bead retreatI have also learned so much from watching and playing with the friends (you know who you are!) I’ve made through this medium. The sharing of information and ideas has been invaluable. Oh, to have a place where we could live and learn together on a regular basis! I think this blog will be one way to work towards fulfilling that dream.

Finally, I’m lucky to have family and friends who encourage my growth. Two of them actually started me on my way ~ Sue brought home that first memory wire bracelet and Stephanie showed me my first lampwork beads. Surrounded by people who always support me and encourage my creativity… I am ready to move ahead!

Leave a Reply

