Where to start…What is my process?


…That’s the question! I know many people sketch out designs before attempting them at the torch, putting a lot of thought into the process before beginning a bead. I think I can count on one hand the beads I’ve sketched out ahead of time. Researching designs, colors and techniques has never been my forte… If I’m totally honest, I do look for color inspirations when I’m shopping or flipping through a new catalog, but I’m not sure that technically counts as “research”. I usually sit down at my trusty Minor, grab some colors and GO! Sure, I have an idea of what I want to do but I’m not always sure of the destination.

This feels different. I’ve always made beads to incorporate into my jewelry. So, although my beads were okay, it didn’t matter if they were recognizable as mine. Through this blog and with these friends, I hope to find a style that feels like mine. A little more technically difficult than the MishMash beads I make so often…
……So maybe I will do some research… make some sketches this time. We’ll see, but first I better finish this and get out on the torch. Time’s a’wastin….

Visit Nancy’s website at www.nancysellsglass.com or click on over to her new blog at nancysellspuffer.wordpress.com!

2 Responses to “Where to start…What is my process?”

  1. Sheila Morley Says:

    Both of these sets of beads you are showing today have beautiful colors. I am reminded of impressionist paintings. Perhaps that would be a place to look. A side theme I have going on is to make ugly paintings pretty. You have the eye for color to do that too. I see lots of talent and I enjoy your beads. I am excited to see where you go.

  2. nancysellsglass Says:

    Thanks Shelia! You made my day… 😀 I’ll have to do a search on impressionist’s.

    Nancy


Leave a Reply

