A style finally emerges…after many trials and errors.

Today we get to the good stuff! At least, the start of the good stuff. When we last left off I was telling you how I got to these fug-a-doh-cious beads over there on the right.

I was trying to do that compartment thing with the black lines and it just didn’t work. I wasn’t quite sure where to go and I had tons of encased stringers sitting around mocking me.

Rather than sit there dumbfounded, I played. That’s what I do when I can’t think of anything. I pull out lots of colors that I don’t usually use and try to make a design that will use up all of the previously-pulled stringer and twisted cane that is laying around. I would say that 99 if not 100% of the time it turns out pretty darn gross but in those times my brain is free to wander, and hope.

Hope? Yeah. There’s this thing that lampworkers do. When they’re working on something new and they’re really excited about what it looks like while it’s 1000 degrees, they put it into the kiln and they hope. They hope that it comes out looking as good as it went in. (Glass is a different color when it’s hot so it is not accurate color when it’s being worked…it cools to its real color over many hours in the kiln). We also sometimes hope that it doesn’t crack while annealing.

That bead on the right is a ‘hope’ bead. As usual, it didn’t turn out as good as I thought it would but it was a very good working study in different kinds of complex stringer.

After a bunch of those beads I decided to stay with one color. Orange. There isn’t much that can go wrong when you’re using orange encased stringer. Unless you use it with ivory or rubino pink…then you’d get mud. Here is what I came up with:

wmc070627a3.jpg

Yeah! I love these beads! And now, looking at them again, I think I need to make some more. They’ve turned into my Elusive series, named so because I couldn’t find a fitting name. They remind me of different things on different days.

Lori Greenberg is a glass bead artist that blogs from her studio in Cave Creek, Arizona.

7 Responses to “A style finally emerges…after many trials and errors.”

  1. tracybeads Says:

    Your persistence and playing around paid off! When I look at this set (love the color combo) I see an underwater scene, a coral reef or those sea anemones clown fish like to hide in. I didn’t know orange would turn muddy when used with ivory or rubino, good to know, thanks for sharing that.

  2. lori g. Says:

    Thanks Tracy! See, I never saw the sea scene…unless you consider fish eggs a sea scene.

    You can use the orange with those colors successfully if you don’t melt them in. It has that reaction like when rubino and ivory melt together. Ick!

  3. sarebear Says:

    Ooooooooo. I thought of Finding Nemo, near the beginning, when they have all their eggs.

    At the same time, I also thought a little of Cihuly . . . I don’t know why, but I did, and I thought, modern art!

  4. lori g. Says:

    I know…the same thing happens to me. Today I was working one and it kept reminding me of a football field. They’re alive!

  5. Su Says:

    Oh, yummy. I love the clusters of bumps. At first I thought they were fused seed beads on a big bead. Just too cool.

    -Su

  6. Lori G. Says:

    Thanks for the compliment Su! It’s always hard to present a new style…they can take a while to catch on but these are really really cool! They have reminded me of seed beads too…but with much more depth and texture.

  7. Aimee Says:

    Hi Lori! I finally got a chance to check out the Blog. It’s pretty cool. And I decided to try doing my own, we’ll see how that goes. See you in a few weeks in Tucson! Can’t wait to see your pod beads in person.


Leave a Reply

