Listen to the muse and she’ll guide you well…

wmc070705a1.jpgDo you ever feel pulled in a direction that you don’t want to go? I know I wrote about that with the dots but I mean in a bigger sense. Like, I know I should be creating glass stuff because that’s what I do but I’ve become obsessed with writing. Blogging. Notes. Lists.

How the heck can I come here and show you how I create if I’m not actually doing it? Then I realized, I am doing it. My designs are evolving as if they have a life of their own right now. That is good. No, that is great, but I don’t really feel it as creativity. I’m on auto pilot. The hard stuff is done (for now). The struggle through the uglies is behind me. Not that there won’t be one here and there but for the most part, I have the design, now I just experiment with color combinations.

wmc070705a2.jpgSo, when I get to that phase, what is a creative mind to do? All that time I spent wracking my brain to come up with a new design, has put me into the groove and I am being called to other creative endeavors. My muse knows that she’s not done with the current dotty/texture style yet so she’s not calling me to a new bead style. So, writing it is, and like with other things, I can’t fight it. Well, I guess I could but it wouldn’t be pretty. Letting go of control is an awesome thing.

Now, as for the bead style stuff that I’m supposed to be telling you about…the pictures in this post are what came after the orange set that I last showed you.

I was trying different color combos. I was also trying to be more efficient by covering more surface area with larger swipes of color rather than having to fill them with all of the little dots of complex stringer that I had to pull by hand. Some worked, some seemed blah.

There still needed to be another step and that will be in my next post.

Lori Greenberg is a glass bead artist who blogs from her studio in Cave Creek, Arizona.

3 Responses to “Listen to the muse and she’ll guide you well…”

  1. Patricia Says:

    Lauri.I love these dotes! Have you ever done a tutorial on how to make the layered canes? Thanks
    Patricia

  2. lori g. Says:

    Hi Patricia and thank you.

    I haven’t done an official tutorial but they’re based on one that I learned from Corina and it’s also in her Passing the Flame book. I’m sure people have been doing it for a long time. It’s basically winding different layers of glass onto the actual rod and then pulling them. The ones in these beads have a core rod of clear, then a light opaque with a transparent on top of that.

    I do have a tutorial on how to make beads with this technique, I believe, in the Fall issue of Glass Patterns Quarterly. The beads look different in it but it’s the same concept in a more simple form.

    Hope that helps!

  3. Watch Me Create » More design by efficiency… Says:

    […] you may want to subscribe to the RSS feed or have it sent to you by email!. Don’t miss a thing!The last post showed how much fun I was having with those layered canes and covering everything and its brother with dots from them. From there I […]


Leave a Reply

