A Head Is Born

cathy lybarger glass bead creaturesAt the end of last week’s creature drama, I had to re-do all my head parts because I didn’t like the first ones. So, here are the new ones-an upper and lower mandible and 3 eyes of varying sizes. Eyes are really important. You’ll want to make extra so you’ll have some combinations to choose from when you make your creature. It’s also entirely possible that your creature will want more than two eyes and you’ll want to be prepared for that.

The next step involved reheating the upper mandible bead and the eye beads (which had been removed from their mandrels and cleaned) and then somehow sticking them together. I thought this was going to be hard to do by myself on account of the fact that I have a Chili Pepper kiln and I was going to have to hold the hot upper mandible bead and get the door open while reaching in with a punty to grab the eye beads.It actually wasn’t that hard to do–it was just hard to do well.

aardvark art glass lampwork beadsYeah. Several mistakes were made here but you know, I think they only add to the creature’s charm. I mean, it’s my creature, so what if I grabbed the wrong size eye and stuck it on at the wrong angle.

Important point alert: When I pulled this head out of the kiln my first thought was “Great. It looks like a really wonky Wayne Robbins bead.”

Wayne Robbins is one of my favorite beadmakers. I don’t know if he attaches separate eyes to the head or not but it kind of looks like he does. Though I do think of Wayne’s work often (usually those little angler fish beads–I love those) I was not thinking of it when I made this head. It’s a good thing too because had I been thinking “Spheres attatched to a dome shape=Wayne Robbins bead” I probably wouldn’t have made this head in the first place. Weird but true.

While it’s frustrating that my new idea does not seem like mine anymore I can take comfort in the fact that I learned a process that was new to me. I’d rather both create something that does not remind me of something else AND learn a new process but you can’t always get what you want. There are only so many ways to make creatures.

4 Responses to “A Head Is Born”

  1. Teresa Says:

    Cathy he is awesome and most definitely “yours”. Thanks for the link to Wayne’s site, I’ve never seen his work before..omg! His frogs are awesome!

  2. Cathy Lybarger Says:

    Thanks Teresa!
    Yeah, I don’t think anyone is going to accuse Wayne of making that thing–his work is very precise and neat. Mine is panicky and interesting.

  3. jean Says:

    Cathy–hooray! We finally got the rest of the story! except-what is a chilipepper kiln and why is it your choice of kilns?

    I see what you mean about the resemblance to Wayne Robbins, although I have only seen his beads a few times!

    That sort of thing happens — what a pain. You are a true original. this idea wil continue its evolution.

    Jean

  4. Cathy Lybarger Says:

    Chili Peppers are digitally controlled kilns that are made out of toolboxes. The inside chamber is wide and not very deep or tall. It’s a more efficient use of space than kilns that have cube-shaped interiors. They fit nicely on my bench and they can hold lots of beads. That’s why I like ’em.
    Thanks for the nice comment, Jean!


Leave a Reply

