Introduction: Rosemarie Hanus

wmc070711a1.jpgHi, my name is Rosemarie Hanus, I melt glass on a torch shooting out flames of about 1600 degrees F, and I am going to give you a glimpse in how I think. Trust me, you should be afraid. Very, very afraid.

I’m just kidding – you do not have to be afraid. I really am fascinated by the whole process of making glass objects, the melting of glass is so mesmerizing, and I would like to share this with you. I currently make primarily large glass beads and a few small marbles.

My foray into glass beadmaking started early in 2003. At the time, I collected marbles and paperweights, and this voice in my head said, “hey, maybe you could make some of these yourself.” I started to poke around on the internet, and low and behold, there was a glass studio near me that gave classes, including beadmaking. In February of 2003, with Sandy Osborn as the instructor, I lit a torch for the very first time, and melted glass. (Well, other than a plumber’s torch – but that is another day’s story.) Cue the Choir of Angels here. The beads were not so great, but I was absolutely hooked. I think that is a sentiment shared by many beadmakers – just a little taste, and the addiction begins.

rosemarie hanus glass donut beadsSoon after that, I bought a tiny Fireworks torch. Now, this is not a very powerful torch in the hierarchy of torches, so my beads were small. However, I did learn a lot about heat control on this little torch.I soon moved to a larger torch and my beads also began to get larger. I took a few classes at the studio (Steinert’s, which sadly has closed.) I learned how to make twisted cane, which basically is different colors of glass together and is used as a decoration. Very much of my work involves the use of this twisted cane.

I would also like to tell you a little more about me. I was born in Akron, Ohio, and currently live in nearby Bath Township with my children, husband, dog, cat, and fish. I am an engineer, and I have been working in the aerospace industry for more than 25 years, with a specialty in image processing. Starting in grade school, I played in the band, and recently, I learned the French Horn in order to play in a local brass choir. I guess I like to learn new things and to keep busy. My Grandfather said it was better to wear out than rust out, and I guess I really bought into that!

I am really excited by the Watch Me Create blog, because I really would like to give some insight into the process of how I develop my beads. I would like to try and focus on my thoughts as a series of beads progress, and to convey the process as I problem solve. So, see? I really want you to to see how I think.

wmc070711a3.jpg wmc070711a4.jpg

wmc070711a5.jpg wmc070711a6.jpg

Rosemarie Hanus is a glass artist who writes from her studio in Bath Township, Ohio. Her website is www.spawnofflame.com because her name is hard to spell.

Photos by Stephen Curless of Dreamscape Photography.

7 Responses to “Introduction: Rosemarie Hanus”

  1. LindaF Says:

    Your blog is looking great and I love your work.

  2. Linda Says:

    Great intro Rose!!!!

    …. and as some one who’s seen and owns some of Rose’s beads they are spectacular!

  3. lori g. Says:

    I want one! They’re beautiful! I want to see them being made too.

  4. Nancy Says:

    Gorgeous! I can’t wait to see more Rose!! 🙂

  5. Triple Play « Spawn of Flame Says:

    […] tossed around the idea of writing a proper introduction, but I’m not sure that I will. I have one that is tailored for Watch Me Create. I think that for this blog, I would just like to share just a […]

  6. Matt Says:

    See now, this is what I need … your pictures made me visit your website, and your dialogue made me go for the online wire-wrapping course. Maybe the glass melting will be next. Thanks Rose!

  7. Watch Me Create » Planning for Spontaneity Says:

    […] like to set the stage a little before I start showing any of my current designs. I mentioned in my introduction that a lot of my work uses twisted cane (lovingly called twisties), so I want to show my archiving […]


Leave a Reply

