My Muse Learns to Be Patient

I am not a patient person, and my beadmaking muse isn’t either. “We” find an idea, sketch it, think about it, torch it, pop it in the kiln, and head off in search of the next inspiration. I might make more than one bead in a particular style (and heaven knows I’ll always be putting faces on things), but “more” is a relative term. “More than one bead in a particular style” is usually akin to five or six attempts at similar beads. Since I work best when I’m inspired by a particular idea, I really don’t have a set plan for my art. Until now, it would be unheard of for me to take over a month and a half to complete a project. That changed with my Moon Glow sculpture, and I’m both surprised and pleased that it happened. Here’s what happened.

Mother’s Day 2007 brought me a thoughtful gift from my husband– money for an oxygen tank and refills so I could graduate up from a used medical oxygen concentrator. What an incredible change that made in the heat and bushiness of flame I could achieve on my Nortel Minor Burner torch! One night, I sat down and made four sleek goddesses with raised arms in one session of torching. (One of the girls took an unfortunate dive off the top of the van during our photo session, so you’ll only see three goddesses in the picture.)

angie garren glass sculpture

I hadn’t planned on making four goddesses, and I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with them. After I put the last one in the kiln, I came upstairs and started googling goddesses and rituals. These figures didn’t really have a Hindu goddess flair, so I skipped my usual search of the Sanatan Society. For some reason, I started searching for lunar goddesses.

One thing led to another, and I ended up reading about the Standing Stones of Stennessother ritual landmarks that might have been temples to the moon. From that moment, I knew I wanted to make an entire tableau with the goddesses lifting their arms in the moonlight. I started my search for pieces of slate that would make credible stones, but abandoned that idea when I made a black and ivory column bead to use as the base of an altar. I made at least four different moons, most with faces, wanting to represent Luna in the tableau. None of them felt right. However, two of them accidentally kissed in a photo and became “Lunar Kisses”. and

wmc070713a2.jpg

Big sigh. . . that made a cute picture, but it sure didn’t solve my problem of how to portray the moon. The goddesses and their lunar friends waited on the ledge of the kitchen counter for weeks. Finally, after lots of other beads and lots of wasted ivory glass and lots of angst over the project that just wouldn’t come together, it hit me– the moon didn’t have to be in the picture! Talk about an “aha” moment. I sat down at the torch and made three free-flowing cupped beads that I hoped would actually fit inside each other, and the Moon Glow sculpture was finally ready to assemble.

wmc070713a3.jpg

After drilling holes for wire stands into the ceramic tiles and propping all the beads in place while the epoxy set them snugly on the wires, this is the final sculpture:

wmc070713a4.jpg

Lessons learned by AngelinaBeadalina: Never give up on an idea that speaks to you, even if it only speaks in whispers. Be patient, and you will be rewarded.

Angie Garren creates art and does the mommy thing in her home in southern Illinois. Visit her at www.AngelinaBeadalina.com for links to her gallery pages, blog, and auctions.

One Response to “My Muse Learns to Be Patient”

  1. Joe Cheray Says:

    That is amazing work. Do you have some work that I can feature on my design blog? I genuinly am loving the detail you put into your bead work. I really would like to do a piece on you over at Wildheart’s Works. Please email me and let me know if you would be willing to take some time to put together an article about yourself and your business with some of your best bead work. I would like to see if I could have your feature for Friday’s post.


Leave a Reply

