Hello…Hollow?

Nancy Sells Puffer Lampwork Green BeadRemember when I said I was being drawn to greens? Well, I still am! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I was inspired by a skirt I saw in my Boston Proper catalog. I thought I would combine various shades of green to come up with my own take on it. And I did…. kind of…

But then I found a great lime green & white jacket at Coldwater Creek and started down a different path. I have this problem… I like to wear jewelry that matches my clothes! And I plan on wearing it while I’m at the Gathering.

Hmmm… have you ever spent time with a bunch of beadmakers? The beads we wear tend to be on the large side…. subtlety is not always in our vocabulary! My friend Paula Canant has been making some spectacular necklaces with hollows and I wanted to see what I could come up with… So I sat down at the torch and started playing! What fun!

You make hollows by building two disks side by side, pushing them towards each other till they meet, then allowing the hot air trapped inside to inflate the glass creating large, thin – walled hollow beads!

The necklace I came up with is a little different than my normal pieces. It’s large and funky…perfect for the Gathering!! I think I’m going to have to spend some more time playing with hollows. I’ve got all kinds of ideas percolating in my brain!!

nancy puffer glass bead hollow necklace

Visit Nancy’s website or click on over to her new blog!

3 Responses to “Hello…Hollow?”

  1. lydiamuell Says:

    Nancy, your baubles are spectacular!! I love the cool combination of color as well and the flow of your necklace’s design.
    Have fun at the Gathering!!

  2. nancysellsglass Says:

    Thanks Lydia. ๐Ÿ™‚ And trust me… I will have WAY too much fun at the Gathering!! Wish you could go…

  3. Watch Me Create » The Value of Putting Yourself Out There! Says:

    […] my friend Robin Mamo and I organize. It was the first time I’ve had a chance to show off my hollows, my Lake Superior stone jewelry and the stone dot beads I’ve told you about in past posts. I […]


Leave a Reply

