Challenge, The Great Teacher

Recently, my kiln temperature controller, digital camera and one of my photography lights all broke down within days of each other. They were out of commission for about three weeks. During that time I couldn’t make any new beads, and my photography time was limited with a borrowed digital camera. I’m a full-time beadmaker and it was difficult to handle the down-time. I thought it would be good to write a Watch Me Create blog post about this experience because it was definitely a creative challenge.

glass annealer kiln and controller

When the equipment breakdowns first happened, I had some sadness and frustration about my business coming to an apparent halt. However, as time went by I began to recognize and appreciate the things I depend on to make and sell beads. For example, I need a kiln, computer and camera, and then I need electricity to run them. I need a phone line for internet access, and propane and oxygen and a torch, plus tools and glass and a lot of other things. It definitely takes a lot of equipment and supplies to make beads and sell or display them on the internet. Everything has to be operating smoothly in order for the business to work. I need my health, too.

All of this reminded me to be thankful for the things I usually take for granted.

I can also appreciate every other beadmaker for the supplies and equipment they have to manage in order to bring pictures to this blog or to websites. It takes a lot of creativity, skill, time, and money to put it all together. All of this goes on behind the scenes in the world of beadmaking, and yet our customers don’t really get to see that side.

One more thing I got out of this experience: when things don’t work according to plan, it’s necessary to improvise. We have to get creative and be ready to learn something new. Since my camera was broken and I was able to borrow a different one, I learned some new things about close-up photography that I didn’t know before and now my bead photos are better. And because one of my photo bulbs was out, I tried taking pictures in lower light and they actually look better with less glare. Also, my boyfriend Steve fixed my kiln and now knows everything there is to know about wiring and programming controllers!

With my kiln now fixed and a new digital camera and photo bulbs, I’m back in business. It’s All Good!

Leave a Reply

