The Gathering’s almost here!!

And I can hardly wait! I’m like a kid waiting for Christmas to get here. For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, the International Society of Glass Beadmakers (ISGB) has a yearly convention called The Gathering.

friends at the ISGB gatheringIt’s a chance to meet up with other beadmakers and spend almost a week immersed in our passion. There are demonstrations, classes, exhibits, a vendor area, and on Saturday there’s an all day artisan bead show called the Bead Bazzar. There are also groups of people scattered everywhere sharing, looking and exchanging beads – too fun! The city changes from year to year, this time we’ll be in Minneapolis.

This will be my 5th Gathering ~ I can’t imagine missing one! Having the chance to spend time with people who share the same interests is priceless. I love spending time with my bead buddies, many of whom I only see this one special week of the year. Several of our WMC crew will be there – I’m looking forward to meeting several of them for the first time. And the best part is getting to see what everyone else is doing. Talk about inspiration!! I come home with so many ideas, it’s sometimes hard to sort everything out when I sit back down at the torch.

As I’ve mentioned before, part of the fun for me is creating new jewelry to wear every year. I already showed you my Green Balls necklace. Since I just finished up my last piece I thought I’d share another one of “2007 Gathering Collection”….. 😉 This one has prodded and poked hollow beads that I etched to look somewhat beach glass-y. The focal is a shell my kids picked up on one of our Spring Breaks in Florida.

wmc070725a2.jpg

I promise to tell you all about our adventures when we get back. But I’ll probably have catch up on my sleep first! Lori tends to keep me up till all hours of the night..

Visit Nancy’s website or click on over to her new blog!

One Response to “The Gathering’s almost here!!”

  1. Angie Garren Says:

    Boy, I sure do wish I was there, getting to meet everyone 🙂 Have a great time!


Leave a Reply

