Lily murrini creates inspiration…

This is one of my Oriental lilies from my personal garden that inspired the murinni from my last post on Watch Me Create. Now, I will show you some beads I am making with them.

shela morley orchid flower

It is interesting to know that lilies only have 3 petals (in the center). The other three are called sepals (behind the front three). They also have three stamens, and three ovaries. For my beads I decided to use three petals, even though we see what we think is six. I am inspired by the idea of the essence of the lily. And! three has been my lucky number since I was 13 years old (coincidentally).

I plan to put the lilies in many different contexts over the next few months. This is just a look at the beginning.

sheila morley orchid murinni bead sheila morley watch me create

The blue with silver encased bead makes me think of Lilies in space.

My natural habit would be to place the flowers in a landscape (and yes, that was the first thing I did). Now, I am trying something a little different. I am enjoying the bright contrast between the lily and the base bead color. Sometimes I have to force myself to try something new; and then the inspiration from that takes off, and a new bead is born.

For additional information please see Sheila Morley’s Art blog. Sheila’s art work is currently documented in an on line gallery, and can be purchased at her website

One Response to “Lily murrini creates inspiration…”

  1. angelinabeadalina Says:

    I like the “lilies in space” look of the lily petals on the dark blue!


Leave a Reply

