Incorporating nature ~ the process…

Remember those Lake Superior stones I picked up on my cousin’s beach? I think I may have figured out one of the ways I’m going to use some of the larger ones…

wmc070805a1.jpg

I love the natural look of the stones but when they’re dry they lose some of their color. So I purchased a rock tumbler thinking that would be a good way to polish them up. The problem is that it takes a lot longer to tumble them than I realized… would you believe it takes over a month to tumble them through four different grits?!

So last week, at our family reunion, I spent some time brainstorming with my cousins. One of them wondered if a spray on glaze might work. Hmmm! Yesterday I picked some up and I’m pleased with the results. It’s a different look than a tumbled stone. But for what I’m doing I think it works! It definitely highlights the colors you see when they’re wet.

wmc070805a2.jpg

I always incorporate my beads into the pieces I create. So my next step will be coming up with a bead that will complement the smooth, flat stones. More to come….. šŸ˜‰

Nancy Sells Puffer is a lampwork bead/jewelry artist from Grand Rapids, MI.

4 Responses to “Incorporating nature ~ the process…”

  1. Ellen Says:

    Oh, baby, I can hardly wait to see what you do with those stones!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Danielle Says:

    Wow! I would love to know what type of glaze you used, I have a tone of stones I have picked up over the years and meening to use in craft projects but havent because of the faded colors !

  3. nancysellsglass Says:

    Hi Danielle! It’s called Triple Thick Clear Glaze by Crafts Etc. I found it at Hobby Lobby. Let me know what you think. And thanks Ellen!!

  4. Watch Me Create » Making it My Own… Says:

    […] through that dilemna. I’ve been trying to come up with a bead that would compliment the stones I found in the U.P. this summer. And wouldn’t you know it… Lori’s dots fit the bill!! Doggone […]


Leave a Reply

