Fire and Ice

Unfortunately, I wasn’t fortunate enough to get to attend the Gathering this year. But this doesn’t mean my beads couldn’t go. As part of the Gathering festivities the ISGB sponsored a juried, themed bead exhibit. This year’s conference took place in Minnesota and the exhibition theme melded imagery of the north country; ice, and us lampworkers love of the flame; fire: “Fire and Ice”.

linda morrison fire and ice lampwork bolimasa fire and ice lampwork glass bead

Whenever I see a “call for entries” notice I see it as an opportunity to step out of my box, stretch my creative wings and try to make something new and different that I otherwise wouldn’t have thought of, or have found time to create. “Fire and Ice” provided just this kind of opportunity.

linda morrison fire and ice lampwork

I’ve never considered putting hot and cold colors together in a bead, so it took a bit of playing around to find some designs I was happy with. I really enjoy having a theme to nudge me in a new direction. Here are the three I ended up sending to the exhibit. I wish I could have attended the show, it would have been really neat to see how other artists interpreted the same theme!

Linda beads and blogs from her home in Salt Lake City, Utah!

3 Responses to “Fire and Ice”

  1. jcherrell Says:

    BEAUTIFUL beads, Linda! The first one made my heart skip a beat…. I’m so glad you shared them here!

  2. Nancy Says:

    Your beads looked (and look) great Linda. I think the last one you posted is my favorite!!

  3. Ellen Says:

    I love it when you “play around” chica; the outcome is always wonderful.


Leave a Reply

