The end of the line…

Last I was writing about my pod series and that they would be my new line for shows this year. Well, show season officially started for me Saturday and the pods were a hit and boy did it feel good.

I love to see people’s reactions when they actually see them in person and these were stunners. More than one person mentioned that they felt ‘alive’ that you could ‘feel what went into them.’ Yeah! That’s what I go for.

lori greenberg glass podsAfter watching a style being built step by step and then the finished product, I never know what people will think. Of course, by the time they get to the completed stage I am in love with them. I wonder though, am I in love with the process that took place, the components I created to make them or the actual end result?

Often, what I love is not what the public loves…at least not the masses. But that’s ok because I know there are some people out there that like what I like…I just have to find them, or they, me.

At this point in the process (with the Fall Tucson Show coming quickly next month) I will be making some old designs and making many more of the pods. Even though I feel like I have these to a completed design, it is hard to make the same thing over and over so variations will occur. Different shapes, different color combinations, etc. This is the most exciting stage to me because the technique is now refined so most anything that evolves now will be top notch…at least, as far as this series goes. I will keep you posted (no pun intended) on what new evolves.

The other part that I love about being here and ready to go into production mode is that, by the end of show season (February) my technique and skills will be even better. But, time to stop wishing time away and off to enjoy where I am with all of this.

My next project is coming up with some sets to update my catalog. I’ve been stuck in focal-land and it’s time to get some new stuff out there in small-bead-world, don’t you think?

Lori Greenberg blogs about beads and the business of beads from her studio in Cave Creek, Arizona.

3 Responses to “The end of the line…”

  1. Angie Garren Says:

    Lori, I’m going to miss this gorgeous light purple bead when this post scrolls off the front page. I keep looking at it every time I visit– I really like the combination of the smooth base with the big and small bubbles frothing over the top!

  2. lori g. Says:

    Aw. thanks Angie. 🙂 I’ll try and put something just as cool up there, or wait, I can make it my avatar. 🙂

  3. Watch Me Create » Refining Designs, one color at a time. Says:

    […] I showed one of my pod beads and said that my next project was going to be working on sets for my web site catalog. Well, you […]


Leave a Reply

