Art Inspired Art: Visual Therapy

Grrr… it just won’t let go… the funk that had a toe hold on me a few weeks ago is just refusing to be shaken. I am persisting in my effort to kick it to the curb though. This week in particular has been extra stressful around here. So last night I decided to take a little trip to the local Barnes & Noble for a little visual therapy.

I love the “ART” department of B&N. Oh, you haven’t heard of that department? They call it the “craft section” but I have a deep personal loathing of the word “crafty” so I like to call it the “ART” department. It just so happens that the Altered Art books are right above all the Jewelry Art books. I find Altered Art absolutely fascinating. It is so passionate and free… and not to mention visually stimulating.

I thought you might find it interesting to know what books are drawing my eyes and influencing my creative thoughts.

The Secrets Of Rusty Things – Michael deMeng

Collage Unleashed – Traci Bautista

Artist Trading Card Workshop – Bernie Berlin

I have to say, I am struggling on how to relate this to my bead making. I have yet to see where all this visual therapy is going to come out in my daily creations. I think I may be drawn to these things because it is so very different from what I “usually” do. As I start to explore this more… I’ll be blogging about it’s influences here.

Kerry Bogert is blogging about her glass art beads and jewelry from her home studio in Ontario NY. Check her work at www.kabsconcepts.com.

2 Responses to “Art Inspired Art: Visual Therapy”

  1. urbanpixie Says:

    I love your stuff & have some free advice (& we all know what that’s worth).

    But here goes: when the funk that won’t go happens to me, I know now that’s it’s caused by some uneasy, perhaps ugly & yes, uncomfy emotion below the surface. Try as we might, we can’t really escape it entirely & if it’s there, it probably needs to come out. Right?

    So now, rather than hitting the snooze, I sit down in silence & try to connect to what’s in there for better or worse. Sure, I usually end up in tears but afterwards, it’s moved on out. Not that it won’t come back to bite me in the toe again but just that it’s no longer driving the entire bus.

    Stay arty & I hope this helped even a little bit.

  2. kabsconcepts Says:

    Thanks so much for your words of encouragement. You may be on to something there. Hmmm… I wonder what it is that is getting to me. I know I have a deep frustration with the kids home in the summer. I love my kids to death… but can only take so much of them. I think there is a big lack of “me” time these days and that might be getting to me. I get lost in the kid overload and just need to get reconnected with myself.

    I will say.. I think the funk thing goes around this time of year. I have read on SEVERAL blogs that fellow artists are in funks.

    Here is to kicking it!


Leave a Reply

