Masks and Goddesses and Labyrinths! Oh, My!

Almost sounds like a chant from a children’s book, doesn’t it? Masks and goddesses and labyrinths! Oh, my! Well, it isn’t “Lions and tigers and bears! Oh, my!” but I’d have to say it is becoming a creative chant of mine. Each of these elements has inspired me at different times during the past year, and each one has also involved a bit of a creative conflict for my ego.

angelinabeadalina glass maskYou see, about this time last year, I finally started making focals and sculpting more. I felt like I’d finally found my unique glass “voice”. Now, I have to tell you that my pride makes me want to have a unique, recognizable style of my very own. . . but my mind always reinforces the idea that “there is nothing new under the sun.” I spend quite a bit of time delving into spiritual and cultural ideas. I check out non-fiction books from both the children’s and adult section of the library. I Google key words and surf from link to link, looking for the particular scrap of information that will inspire me.

However, all three of these themes got the ax the first time I thought about trying them! So many other people have made masks, how would that be unique? Teresa Laliberte’ is known for her goddesses, and what could I add to that? Labyrinths? Lots of people have done those, too. I even wrote about that one the other day in my blog, noting that I could think of at least two people who’ve probably made labyrinths in glass (Teresa Laliberte’ and JC Herrell both came to mind). Almost the very same day I wrote about that, Sheila Morley was writing about meeting Margaret Zinser and her amazing maze beads!

angie garren glass goddessSo, here’s how I reconcile the “gotta have my own unique voice” and the “there’s nothing new under the sun” concepts? Well, I started making masks right after our family visited Disney World last Thanksgiving. After seeing them hanging practically everywhere in the Animal Kingdom, the light bulb clicked on– people all around the world have been making masks for thousands of years, and I could any I make my own touch. I made lots of masks after that realization!

As for goddesses, I’ve made so many now that I can’t even remember which one came first– but I do know the book that set my creativity free was Shakti Mantras: Tapping into the Great Goddess Energy Within by Thomas Ashley-Farrand. Gaia is my current goddess glass obsession.

Labyrinths have emerged from my glass just this last month, after I kept running across information about labyrinths while googling medicine wheels and mandalas. Yep, that was my signal to finally do my own versions:

Masks and goddesses and labyrinths! Oh, my! Guess how they all melded together last week at the torch? A Buddha figure (using many of the same techniques I use for both masks and goddess figures) emerged, wearing a labyrinth pattern around his shoulders (you can trace your finger all the way around a real labyrinth pattern):

angie garren glass labyrinth beads angelina beadalina glass labyrinth bead

Angie Garren, aka AngelinaBeadalina, sculpts glass, ponders the world’s plethora of spiritual beliefs, and pours the chocolate milk and plain milk for James and Katie in her home in Illinois. Stop by her gallery pages to see what she’s been up to glass-wise, and check out her blog for the story about what happens when Mommy tries to combine her real job with her glass obsession 🙂

3 Responses to “Masks and Goddesses and Labyrinths! Oh, My!”

  1. Ellen Says:

    I’m captivated

  2. Angie Garren Says:

    Thank you, Ellen 🙂

  3. Hali Chambers Says:

    These are AWESOME! What BEAUTIFUL work you do!
    🙂 Hali


Leave a Reply

