The Golden Geisha

Well this one has fine silver melted onto the surface, but turned a pale gold. The body really looks like a cross between shiny gold and silver at the top and I love the fact that it stayed that way while I was working it in the torch. I wish I could tell you how I did that, but I don’t know. If I had to guess, I’d say burnish the silver well onto the bead so it doesn’t burn off as easily in the flame. As for the golden color, I’m using a HotHead torch on bulk fuel so it could be the impurities working to my advantage on this one.

I used blue on black for the bottom half of the bead and swirled it into waves. My mother said it made her think of the “Starry Night” painting by Van Gogh.

wmc070822a1.jpg

I placed her on a fine silver headpin as usual, it’s times like this I wish I could afford to work in gold. 😉

Tracy Jerrell Akhtar blogs from her home in Southern Michigan. To see her webpage click TracyBeads.

4 Responses to “The Golden Geisha”

  1. Wiley Says:

    Beautiful! As soon as I read this line “My mother said it made her think of the “Starry Night” painting by Van Gogh.” I saw it! Gorgeous bead!

  2. Ellen Says:

    She’s a beauty – quietly so.

  3. tracybeads Says:

    Thank you Ellen 🙂


Leave a Reply

