Took me 34 years to figure out what a Goddess was; to me..

In my last blog I was writing about the elements and how I am applying that to my work. Every now and then, our equipment fails to work and we have to compromise our inspirational plans. To make a long story short, my four year old decided to push the lens in on my camera, so, I will not be taking any pictures until I buy a new camera (in the next week).

After years of drawing and painting people, and quite often Goddesses, I finally figured out what a Goddess is to me. This piece here is a large bead, that is the first of its kind. I like to call it “the sketch”; the beginning of a series on Mother earth, as a Goddess.

wmc070828a1.gif

I just imagine that she is gentle, and she conveys a feeling of some kind of wonderful emotional Love she has toward the earth. Dream-like.

A good thought; a Goddess is protecting the earth. And the Goddess truly loves the earth and is not in any need for anyone else. And, she is that relaxed and content all by herself; crossing her hands over her chest, emphasizing her Love for the earth. I get a huge thought of liberation, security, independence., self Love…things all woman need to learn in life. When woman can rise above all the real life disturbances and still be content, alone; and maybe feel what this piece conveys; my idea of what a Goddess is, is born.

…a true “real life” experience told with a bead.

For additional information please see Sheila Morley’s Art blog. Sheila’s art work is currently documented in an on line gallery, and can be purchased at her website.

2 Responses to “Took me 34 years to figure out what a Goddess was; to me..”

  1. Ellen Says:

    Sheila – every time I see one of your goddess beads, I feel a calmness come over me. Ahhhhhh

  2. Sheila Morley Says:

    Thank you! It is nice to know; when your work is working!


Leave a Reply

