Revisiting Ocean Inspired Focal Beads

I have been trying to branch out from my Baroque style of floral focal beads as of late. In doing so I began to revisit some of the styles that I so enjoyed early in my career as a glass artisan. As I flipped through my never ending photo albums, I came across an old series of ocean inspired beads that I so enjoyed creating. They were always so appealing to me, the waves crashing beneath the surface of the crystal clear encasing glass never failed to capture the attention of others when I wore one on a chain around my neck.

wmc070901a1.jpg

The challenge for me was trying to figure out how I could make similar ocean focals that keep with my current style of work. The addition of sparkling dichroic strips over silvered Kronos glass seemed to be a great place to start, but it wasn’t quite enough to finish the design in a manner that pleased me. I capped off the top of each drop focal with more silvered glass and swags and dots of metallic stringer work. So far, I’m pleased but I have only made two so far. I look forward to showing this series here at WMC as it continue to evolve.

wmc070901a2.jpg

Lydia Muell blogs from her home studio in Lexington, NC. More of her work can be seen at Ashtonjewels.com

9 Responses to “Revisiting Ocean Inspired Focal Beads”

  1. lori g. Says:

    When I opened this post these blew my hair back. Wow.

  2. Lydia M. Says:

    Thank you Lori!! 🙂

  3. lori g. Says:

    You’re welcome. I don’t know if you belong to the ISGB but if you do, you should submit that for the cover of next years Gathering guide. The theme is “Currents”.

  4. tracybeads Says:

    I really admire your beads Lydia, love them!

  5. Lydia M. Says:

    Thank you for mentioning that Lori. I’m not a member of the ISGB, but that’s due to my being such a procrastinator. lol I will most definitely look into that.

    Thank you Tracy!! I love your beads also!!

  6. rose h. Says:

    Both of those beads are incredible. Wow!

  7. Rhonda Verma Says:

    I have NEVER in my life seen such beautiful beads…… These are the most gorgeous beads I have ever seen!

  8. Rhonda Verma Says:

    How would I be able to order some of these from you?

  9. Watch Me Create » Ocean Focals, Building on Inspiration Says:

    […] you may want to subscribe to the RSS feed or have it sent to you by email!. Don’t miss a thing!In my last blog, I had written about revisiting the ocean-style focals that I had so enjoyed in the past. Although […]


Leave a Reply

