Designing the Elements: Fire and Water

This post is a continuation of my “Color Challenge,” and also the beginning of a new design concept. I’ve been looking for a technique that will make the bead design appear to shift and wave when the bead is turned. My idea was to design a bead that looked like flowing water. This was my first attempt:

wmc070910a1.jpg

Then I made the ripples on the water more intense to get more of a shifting look:

wmc070910a2.jpg

I was also looking for something I could make with really bright color, something psychedelic and multi-colored. Here is a photo of the test bead:

wmc070910a3.jpg

As I was making the bead, I realized that it looks a lot like fire. “Fire” would fit in perfectly with “Water” in a series designed around the four elments. Here is the Fire bead set I created:

wmc070910a4.jpg

So now I have water and fire! The next logical step would be to make air and earth. I’ll post whatever transpires next.

2 Responses to “Designing the Elements: Fire and Water”

  1. Sheila Morley Says:

    FABULOUS! I really like these. Your encasement texture is awesome. I see water and fire! And! Your encasement is so clean! Nice work. Can’t wait to see the next ones!

  2. beadabundant Says:

    Thanks, Sheila!


Leave a Reply

