Making it My Own…

What do you do when you see a bead technique that would work really well for you… and someone’s already doing it?! For the first time, I’m working through that dilemna. I’ve been trying to come up with a bead that would compliment the stones I found in the U.P. this summer. And wouldn’t you know it… Lori’s dots fit the bill!! Doggone it… now what do I do? Being the big hearted person she is, when I told Lori what I was thinking about doing, she told me to go for it. So I’ve been playing around with the technique and I’m really pleased with the outcome.

My problem is that I don’t want people to think I’m “copying”!! Being labeled a copier is something that happens quite often in the bead business and it’s something I want to avoid at all costs. Lori is fine with me using the technique… but no one else (but you) knows. So what do I do? What would you do?

After giving it a lot of thought, I think the only way to know if I’ve changed the technique enough to call these mine is to show you… right?! So, gulp, here goes… be honest…

wmc070911a1.jpeg

…what do you think?

Nancy Sells Puffer is a lampwork bead/jewelry artist from Grand Rapids, MI. Check out her very own blog here and visit her website at www.nancysellsglass.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Making it My Own…”

  1. tracybeads Says:

    Hey! That orange and yellow one looks like you rolled it in Fruity Pebbles! Or maybe I shouldn’t have skipped breakfast. 😉 I think they look nice Nancy, and different enough from Lori’s. I kept looking at yours and then over at Lori’s lavender bead on the left side of the page and I could tell them apart. While it’s a similar technique, I wouldn’t mistake those beads for hers and vice versa.

  2. nancysellsglass Says:

    LOL! Thanks Tracy. That’s what I thought, but it’s always nice to get confirmation… Now remember to eat breakfast tomorrow! 😉

  3. Ellen Says:

    Hey, if you feel like you copied Lori in any way then I guess I copied her too cause I’m using the same technique. Remember we talked about it in the bar? I feel like I put my own spin on the “look” and we all know – that’s what it’s all about.
    “There’s nothing new under the sun” and since most of us are very caring/sharing women, you’re going to see similar stuff in our world.
    Yours are great and so are Lori’s and I like mine too. hehe


Leave a Reply

