Flying Slugs and Moody Introspection

cathy larbarger aardvark art glass beadsWhen I last posted, which was some time ago (sorry about that) I was making boro squids and struggling to come up with a second less time consuming design. Enter the Flying Slug.

This design requires much less prep work than the squid. Basically it is a tentacle bent into a “c” shape with an added mouth, eyeball and flippers. below is a side view.

Amazingly enough, this shape works well as a pendant. It’s back lies against your chest and the face stays facing out much better than I thought it would. I could make one in under an hour which is “in the zone” for me work time wise.

Unfortunately, the design has a major problem which is that it is much more fragile than the squid. Though I’ve managed to keep my own slug intact for quite some time, one slug that I accidently dropped while I was taking it’s picture did not survive…at all. That was a sad moment for me because I realized that it wasn’t a viable design.

aardvark art glass boro beadsGenerally speaking, selling things that are that fragile makes me really nervous. Of course my nervousness was overridden by my desire to get feedback on my design so I did list one of these on Ebay. Stan from Australia bought it and I know he’ll take good care of it.

Here’s the thing about me, though. Even though beadmaking is all about keeping this time and money balance so I can continue on with my remarkably easy and fun job I am equally driven by people’s reaction to my work. I’d be much more likely to pursue something that was really time consuming if the end product was more impressive to people.

Squids and slugs are exponentially more difficult for me to make than mask beads but you can’t really tell that by looking at them. If I step outside myself and just look at the pieces I keep thinking that people who do not work with boro don’t really know what’s involved with them and people who do work with boro would wonder what was the big deal about the squids and slugs–they don’t look that hard to do. What is that anyway? A turtle? A butterfly? I think I was the biggest fan of the new designs.

cathy lybarger boro squidOf course the Ebay people liked them. People who are up for something strange liked them quite well, bless them. I guess in the end after figuring out how to put these guys together (that’s the fun part) my results just weren’t impressive enough (to the public at large and to me) to warrant spending that much more time on these guys. I do love my squids. Time making them was time well spent.

2 Responses to “Flying Slugs and Moody Introspection”

  1. Angie Garren Says:

    Cathy, I agree that it was time well spent. Look at those incredible colors in the Flying Slug, and the flow of his body…I’ll bet they show up somewhere else in your work again soon! P.S. The talking Squidsy pic is too cute!

  2. Cathy Lybarger Says:

    Thanks Angie!
    I really like the colors in that slug too. I tried to make another one just like it and it turned out completely different which was kind of frustrating. I think I would benefit greatly from taking a class from someone who knows what they’re doing with the boro. Were I able to understand it better I would want to use it all the time. I did so enjoy working with it this summer.


Leave a Reply

