Air and Earth: Designing the Elements 2

I’ve made two more bead sets in my Elements series. In my last post I described making sets representing “Water” and “Fire,” and now I’m finishing up the series with “Air” and “Earth.”

For the “Air” set I used dichroic glass, (CIM) Cirrus, Vetrofond Pale Ocean Blue and some (CIM) Halong Bay stringers waving across the top. The CIM glasses have a beautiful opalescent, misty look to them. They have a cloud-like appearance that develops when the glass is repeatedly heated and cooled, which seemed like the perfect choice for an “Air” set.

karolen deupree water glass beads

For the “Earth” set, it was hard to decide which colors to use. I make a lot of organic-style beads and so there are a lot of earthy color combinations I like already. Ivory, green and brown seemed like the most logical colors to use, but I ended up choosing, (of course), my favorite color lately, Terra!

beadabundant glass earth bead set

It has been fun to choose a theme such as “The Elements” and design a series around it.

My next challenge will be about using Japanese Kinari glass! Stay tuned!

One Response to “Air and Earth: Designing the Elements 2”

  1. rose h. Says:

    Karolen, I really love the “Air” set. I bet it is even more breathtaking in person!


Leave a Reply

