How to make MishMash Beads: In the end, a natural progression..

In my last post I told you about a new bead style that was emerging to compliment my Lake Superior stones. Well, I’ve been continuing to play and refine the technique. And while it has some elements of Lori’s Elusive Dots, it also is something that has been in the back of my mind for a long time.

I’ve been making “MishMash” beads for years. I love taking different colors and blending them into my beads. I heat the end of a rod and then dab it all over the base bead, adding layer upon layer, finally melting them all in together to achieve the effect. I began making them long before so many frits were available. And while I love all the frit combinations out there, I still prefer the way the colors melt together in my MishMash beads.

Over the years, I’ve tried to figure out how I could leave the dabs of color raised to achieve a textured look, but I’ve never been happy with the results… until now! A couple days ago, it occurred to me that these stone dot beads are not only influenced by Lori’s beads, but they are also the next step in my MishMash series! Who knew?!

Nancy Sells Puffer is a lampwork bead/jewelry artist from Grand Rapids, MI. Check out her very own blog here and visit her website at www.nancysellsglass.com

One Response to “How to make MishMash Beads: In the end, a natural progression..”

  1. Ellen Says:

    And, of course, if you’ve been checking out the showcase on WC!, you’ll notice that I dig that look as well.
    What would we do without each other, eh???????????


Leave a Reply

