Meditating Liberated bead Artist? Or a Sculptor?

wmc071001a1.jpg

In my last blog here I showed you the geode style stone beads I am working on. That is going to take a little bit longer than expected. I have to purchase ANOTHER piece of equipment to clean those pieces, before I can re-introduce them to the flame. Those will have to be works in progress for a little while.

I am working on some, what I call, “latticino landscapes”. I am making numerous canes of numerous colors to create the landscapes. I then create a figure, what I call a “Soul Gesture”, to add expression and meaning.

In these two examples I am talking about two important things to me, today. Meditation and Liberation with inspiration.

Meditating, for me, is really difficult. I call myself a “think-a-holic” sometimes, because I can not turn the thoughts off. I mostly think about art. What I am creating, and most importantly to me; what does what I am creating mean? This meditation pose reminds me of just that; meditating, which puts the mind in a peaceful, dream-like place.

I have always been interested in the traditional “odalisque” gesture, that many painters incorporated into their work. You will see this gesture in many of my pieces; and in articles that I write. The “odalisque” has been an insult to some women, and a celebration to some women, (A sexual pose to Picasso, and Play Boy magazine too!); depending on the time. For me, here, and now, the odalisque gesture represents the women’s liberation in society. There she is, arms above herself, honoring herself. The air bubble above the soul gesture represents an inspiration, to me. Those “droplets” are beautiful. Liberated, celebrating inspiration…

wmc071001a2.jpgMy use of color is inspired by looking at other bead artists work. Probably everybody here at Watch Me Create, and Sarah Hornik has been on my mind. Her color choices are very unique. The landscape affects are inspired by some of the colors she uses.

As I look back at the articles I have written for this blog, I can not help but notice how often I bounce around from series to series. I think it is safe to say, I really am a figurative artist. I am really just unsure if I am a “bead artist” or a “sculptor artist”. I mean, I have way more experience at sculpting than I do at making beads. I am making beads, so, therefore, call me a “bead artist”.

I just wish I could be a little bit more practical from a designers stand point. So, I am giving that a shot too. So far, most of my work has been figurative focal beads; art about art. Most of my customers are collectors. Now, as I look into the future, I just wonder if I will go the bead route or the sculpture route? I can not seem to make up my mind. Maybe I will stick with both? We’ll see!

For additional information please see Sheila Morley’s Art blog. Sheila’s art work is currently documented in an on line gallery, and can be purchased at her website, e-bay, and she has a new shop at Etsy.

3 Responses to “Meditating Liberated bead Artist? Or a Sculptor?”

  1. Angie Garren Says:

    Sheila, I think you are an artist…you’ve just chosen to express yourself in different mediums at different times in your life. Yes, definitely, “artist”, doesn’t matter whether you say “bead” or “sculpture”!

  2. Sheila Morley Says:

    Thank you for your comment. Sometimes I just get confused about the purpose of my work.
    😉

  3. Melissa Monks Says:

    These are gorgeous:) Purpose can be as mutable as an artist’s medium no doubt.


Leave a Reply

