Faceless Madonna– That Was Hard to Do!

madonna picturesI’ve been on a Madonna and Child kick lately at the torch. Instead of making Santas (although I’ll probably end up making at least one Santa and Mrs. this year, too), my holiday thoughts turn to my favorite things about Christmas– nativity scenes, classic carols, and angels.

Madonna and Child have a leg up on the other holiday themes because I happen to have a small collection of prints that hangs on the wall behind my desk all year ’round.

 

 

 

glass madonna beadThe hardest thing for me to do during this particular torching theme has been not putting faces on the mother or child. If you know me, you know that I am addicted to sculpting faces, as well as goddess figures. It wasn’t so hard to make myself clothe Mary; after all, another glass love of mine is making flowing dresses, so her robes were a joy to do. However, making myself leave her face plain and unsculpted was not as easy.

I held back, though, and the result has been some powerful sculptures. Sometimes, restraint is what you need!

 

 

 

Angie Garren, aka AngelinaBeadalina, tries to keep herself from always adding “just one more touch” to beads and sculptures at her worktable, loves to tell you about the results whether good or bad in her gallery pages, and often adds them to her Etsy shop.

glass madonna bead

2 Responses to “Faceless Madonna– That Was Hard to Do!”

  1. Ellen Says:

    Angie – even for an old atheist, your sculptures are powerful.
    They are quiet and peaceful and instill the same feelings.

  2. angelinabeadalina Says:

    Thanks, Ellen 🙂 You know what’s funny? I feel as if I have a split personality when it comes to religion– half of me is a huge skeptic, half of me wants to believe in the deeply spiritual. I think that desire to believe is probably a big force behind my exploration of all sorts of religious art themes. I’m glad you can feel the peacefulness in these. I think that’s what’s remarkable about Mary, the peacefulness and quiet strength she can evoke despite all the turmoil she would’ve witnessed.


Leave a Reply

