Bridal Jewelry: Designing Out of My Comfort Zone

I was recently (very recently) asked to take on a very special custom order. Now, you may remember, I have issues with custom orders. But when a family member askes you to make a piece for their wedding, really how can you say no?

wmc071106bridaljewelry.jpg

Creating this piece was no small task. Fortuntely, my bride-to-be wasn’t overly picky. She had a few magazine clippings of, what I can only describe as, “twig style” head pieces and bracelets. At first, I told myself, lampwork glass beads and the hard cut angles of Swarovski crystals just aren’t going to go together. And my cousin kept saying… “small, really small…”. I initially made a batch of beads that were all completely different, lots of white and ivory with spots, dots, stripes, swirls, plaids… everything.

Once I had all the beads in my hand, I didn’t like how they looked together. I went back to the torch and decided to do just dots. Lots and lots of dots. As I started to wire up the finished piece, I had no definate plan, which is very different then how I usually work. I was taken back by the vision that started to form in my head. I never realized I had a piece like this in there, but I guess I did.

wmc071106bridaljewelry02.jpg

The finished piece is a 16in bangle style necklace. There are 11 lampwork glass beads, 58 Swarovski glass pearls and crystals, plus 5 different guages of wire. It took a little more the 3 1/2 hours to wire together (not counting bead making time). I think the style is nothing like my own, but there are still bits and pieces of a “Kabs” design in there. All in all, I think I love it, and I can’t wait to see everyone’s reaction when the bride walks down the aisle in it!!

Kerry Bogert is blogging about her glass art beads and jewelry from her home studio in Ontario NY. Check her work at www.kabsconcepts.com.

6 Responses to “Bridal Jewelry: Designing Out of My Comfort Zone”

  1. beadabundant Says:

    Wow, what a gorgeous necklace! I definitely see the “Kabs” design style in there. I’m sure the necklace will draw lots of complements. You may get more orders… just what you need, right? 🙂

  2. nancysellsglass Says:

    Oh Kerry… it’s beautiful! Well done my friend… 🙂

  3. kabsconcepts Says:

    Thanks gals 🙂

  4. Ellen Says:

    Yowza! What a lucky bride!!!

  5. deannaaki Says:

    I have been designing wedding jewelry along time,. This is very unique and one that I’m sure the Bride will find reason to wear time and again.


Leave a Reply

