Lesson learned. . . Next time I’ll take notes!

It’s times like these, when I wish that I was proactive enough to keep a pen and paper available for note taking while I’m at the torch. Last week, at the end of a studio session, I decided to make a small bead trio that would later be used in a bracelet that I wanted to make. I didn’t put a great deal of thought into them. I guess I must have been in that “zone” or something because I can’t remember for the life of me which colors I used to decorate the beads. The base was obviously encased dichroic over copper green, but the rest remains a mystery to me still.

wmc071109surfgems.jpg

Upon taking this little beads out of the kiln, I immediately fell in love with them. I assembled them into a bracelet and named the finished piece “Surf Gems”. I HAD to make another full set as soon as I had time! On Monday of this week, I headed down to my torch with a huge smile on my face, ready to make a full set of “Surf Gems”. At the time, I thought I knew how I made them. For some strange reason, violet and ink blue came to mind as being used in some of the layers. I made an entire set and slept well, thinking that I had successfully completed my goal for the day.

Sadly, I was wrong. . .my set really looked nothing like the trio that I had originally made. I named them “Mermaid Jewels” and went back to the torch for another try. This morning I am disappointed again. . .The small set that I made yesterday doesn’t look like the originals either, so I’m off to the torch for another attempt.

wmc071109mermaidjewelsm.jpg

 

10 Responses to “Lesson learned. . . Next time I’ll take notes!”

  1. Ellen Says:

    I understand that you are frustrated and disappointed but, dang, what you are turning out is beautiful!!!

  2. rose h. Says:

    Oh Lydia, I can see why you are trying to duplicate those original beads. The alternates are great too, but I know the feeling.
    I wrote a post on how I take notes, and always write stuff down. Yeah, well, I have missed writing down quite a few lately myself. Frustrating.

  3. Suz Says:

    Ahh, but the process is producing such lovely beads! Maybe your subconscious is hiding the recipe on purpose πŸ™‚

  4. joolzbylisa Says:

    Wow…those are simply stunning!

  5. lydiamuell Says:

    Thanks so much for the lovely compliments and encouragement!

    Suz, I think you may be right. I tried again yesterday and finally decided to move on to something else. I think the Surf Gems bead recipe will remain as big a mystery to me as the ingredients that went into those special cookies that my Grandma used to make. lol

    Rose, You are smart to keep that notebook by your side and even smarter if you actually use it. I think I may have tried to take notes a time or two, but I always ended up forgetting that the pad and pencil was there for my use. Sometimes, I would just say, “Nah, I don’t need to write it down, I’ll remember.” I bet I’ll start taking those notes now. πŸ˜‰

  6. gwacie Says:

    Heya Lydia, lovely beadies. I’ve tried to work with a pen and notebook but I find it really inhibits my creativity. Let me know if you find a way to make it work!

  7. Jennifer Says:

    Both sets are gorgeous! In fact, I think I love the 2nd set even more. Of course, I’m a bit partial to purple. Lovely work!

  8. Lori Peterson Says:

    Love the beads, Lydia. The originals and the subsequent iterations are equally lovely.

    If I put pen and paper near the torch, I usually end up with a small fire and some swearing. πŸ™‚

  9. lydiamuell Says:

    Hi Gwacie!!! Well, if you can’t do it then there’s NO hope for me. I tried it yesterday and it just seems to take the fun out of it . lol

    Jennifer, thank you! I love purple too. I think what was missing for me was the depth that I achieved in the first set. I finally just had to give up and get over it.

    Lori, thank you too! Ha. . .too funny!! Another good reason why I should just leave the pen and paper out of the equation.

  10. Best of the Week ending 11/11/2007 - Art of the Firebird Says:

    […] Watch me Create — Lesson learned. . . Next time I?ll take notes! […]


Leave a Reply

