Henry Matisse and Chuck Berry Inspire my Art about Art

Today, I am writing about a couple of pieces that are inspired by the Artist’s before me.

This is one of my “Joy of Life” beads. Named and designed after Henri Matisse’s “Joy of Life” painting. A landscape with people celebrating life. He mixes traditional subject matter with his own style of painting. The idea of taking what has already been done further, is one of my inspirations; trying what has already been done, while allowing my muse go at it (making it my own).

wmc071111ajoyoflife.jpg

The process of creating the “Joy of Life”, is becoming one of my favorite. The use of hand mixed latticino cane, and thin strings of glass to create texture. I am welding the pieces together, as if the metal was paint. Glass is so versatile; the possibilities are endless. I keep asking myself, how did anybody come up with the thought that painting was dead? In my opinion, they just never melted glass before. I am so lucky!

Chuck Berry in Glass? Doing the duck dance! Yes! He deserves it. Can you imagine going to see a concert, and having the guy at the door taking tickets say, “Your color is not welcome here”?????? He did not get in to that show because he is black. Hello! That is what they told Chuck Berry when he was around 20 years old. And, then 50 years later, he is invited to play a show at the very same theatre. Sells out, to what looked like to me, to be almost 100% white colored people.(People are finally catching on.)

wmc071111bchuck2.jpg

These are just a couple things that inspire me; Art about art.

Sheila Morley’s Art blog is about her works in progress, and her life as an Artist.. Sheila’s art work is currently documented in an on line gallery, and can be purchased at her website, e-bay, and she has a new shop at Etsy.

One Response to “Henry Matisse and Chuck Berry Inspire my Art about Art”

  1. Ellen Says:

    Both men would be proud to know they’ve inspired you to create such wonderful beads.


Leave a Reply

