Phrases That Suggest Themselves

I got it in my head that I wanted to add text to the painted beads I’ve been working on. I like words a lot so artwork that incorporates text has always been appealing to me. The artwork of Barbara Krueger is a good example of what I’d like to do.

Since the images that I’m using come from collective drawings (see blog entry “Lost School Beads”for more information about collective drawings) it would stand to reason that the accompanying text would also be collective and from the same bunch of weird-o’s. Fortunately, over the years we’ve done as much writing as drawing and saved a considerable amount of it.

Like the drawings, the writing is written in a stream of consciousness fashion. It makes little linear sense but contains lots of tasty little word combinations that everyone can enjoy such as:

wmc071119aalienmothership.jpg

or

wmc071119bticklemychi.jpg

That’s all I got for text beads so far. What’s unfortunate is that in order to make the words readable they almost have to be written in block letters. Collective writing loses it’s zing when it’s typed because you don’t see all the different handwritings. I think text on the beads is kind of the same way though I’m going to try to work around that. I need text on the beads.

5 Responses to “Phrases That Suggest Themselves”

  1. Ellen Says:

    Way cool, Cathy; I love them!!!

  2. cathylybarger Says:

    Hey, thanks Ellen! I’ll make more…

  3. Sheila Morley Says:

    Has a raw art feeling that I really like. Graffiti with a fun homor…
    I wonder if the collective group has artistic hand writing?
    I wonder if you are painting the words or, do you use thompsons (http://www.thompsonenamel.com/welcome/main.htm) pens with enamel? Not sure how they work,
    I am interested?

  4. cathylybarger Says:

    I went to the Thompson’s site but I did not see a picture of the tool I’m using. Here’s a picture of the pen I’m using to make these: http://img.inkfrog.com/click_enlarge1.php?image=fluidpen.jpg&username=aardart
    You put a few drops of paint in the funnel thing at the end of the pen. It’s callled a Fluid Writer Pen. Drawback: a PITA to clean. Otherwise it’s great.

    Thompson’s sells crow quill pens too. I sometimes use those for finer detal but mostly I use the Fluid Writer.

    Bronwen Heilman suggested Fusemaster brand enamels so that is what I’m using. They are ground much finer than the Thompsons. So far Fusemaster has been compatable with both Moretti and Bullseye. The powders have to be mixed with clove, lavender or squeegee oil depending on how thick you want the paint. For painting with the pen you use clove and lavender because you want very thin paint. For brushes you use the squeegee oil because you want thicker paint.

    Fot the mothership bead, first I wrote (pen) the black words then fired them. Second I painted (with a brush) the white background behind the words and fired that. Then I penned the ship outline and fired that. Last, I added the colors and fired that. Then I made the bead.

    Re: the other question. Lost School handwriting is all over the place. Not particularly artistic but very individual. You can always tell who wrote what. For some reason, knowing who wrote what line adds to the poem’s hilarity. We’ve typed them up on the computer in the past and while they were much more legible they just didn’t seem as funny to me.

  5. jean Says:

    I need all these beads!!!


Leave a Reply

