The Elusive Spirits in the Trees

 

Long ago, in the nineteen seventies, when I was about 11 or 12 years old, my uncle loaned me a book he thought I’d like. It was The Hobbit. Well, that was just the beginning, because then I was compelled to read The Lord of the Rings series. Mind you, I like to read books but don’t usually like to see them made into movies, so my memory of the whole Tolkien saga is worn by time, especially when it comes to retrieving exact names and places.

Suffice it to say, when I think of spirits in the trees, I still recall the vision I had of the queen who lived in the forest: tall, slender, flowing clothes silvery on one side and soft green on the other. I remember thinking my image of her was much like a poplar tree, grand and silvery and graceful.

 

Fast forward to the grownup me in her forties, quickly becoming enamored of trees and their spirits once more. Last fall, I sculpted some Green Men out of glass, and I was fascinated with how they appeal to so many different people. They are Pagan in origin, but I stumbled across information about them because I saw them in pictures of Christian church sanctuaries. Amazing, how we feel such a connection with trees that we can readily picture spirits peeking from within their bark. I, for one, thoroughly enjoyed making Green Men faces and felt each one did indeed have its own spirit/personality.

wmc071119aangelinaglass.jpg

Now, once again, I have a tree spirit calling to my imagination. This time it comes in the form of a gracefully shaped maple growing in our backyard. She is a huge tree. I say “she” because every time I look at this tree, I see the gently curved hips of an Earth Mother goddess. Isn’t she grand? I attempted to capture her in glass yesterday. Hopefully, the glass efforts will be a reflection of her spirit. We’ll see.

 

AngelinaBeadalina, aka plain ol’ Angie Garren, loves to create glass art, happily torching and sculpting in the attempt to capture emotions and personalities in glass. You can see her work in her gallery pages at BeadArtists.org, as well as in her Etsy shop and eBay listings.

3 Responses to “The Elusive Spirits in the Trees”

  1. Ellen Says:

    Don’t you feel sorry for people who never really notice and appreciate the beauty of trees?

  2. angelinabeadalina Says:

    Definitely, Ellen! There are so many intricate details that combine to create that beauty, too (i.e. the bark pattern, the colors in the bark, the branching pattern, the way the veins run on the leaves).

  3. Watch Me Create » The Alien Reindeer Tree Goddess Says:

    […] RSS feed or have it sent to you by email!. Don’t miss a thing!Remember how I was telling you about trying to capture the glass likeness of the spirit in the maple tree in our backyard? Well, here’s the first […]


Leave a Reply

