A short story about the art working

I was greeting customers that came to my table at the Winter wonders show in Birmingham, MI. (11-4-07). I hear, “LaNaissance de Venus”, says a woman walking up to the table. I said, “You know the painting!” She recognized the painting in the bead I made. You can see in the original painting, there is a lot more detail. My impression of it still conveys the same moment, AND somebody recognized it! We were both excited to be reminded of a beautiful piece of art. Especially one like this; that was a tribute to that time period.

wmc071125a1.jpg

A soft glass bead that stands, creating the birth of Venus all over again.

The picture I used as my reference material for this bead is named the “Birth of Venus”. It is from an old art history book from school days. I am not sure if I have seen it in person. I made this bead in Januray, 2007.

wmc071125b1.jpg

(William Adolphe Bouhuereau, LaNaissance de Venus, 1863, oil on Canvas photographed, scanned in, and here it is…photo by Reunion des Musees Nationaux Documentation Photographique)

That is one of the moments that I look forward to in art. When someone else reminisces that very same moment.

Inspiration Inspires…art about art.

Sheila Morley’s Art blog is about her works in progress, and her life as an Artist.. Sheila’s art work is currently documented in an on line gallery, and can be purchased at her website, e-bay, and Etsy.

5 Responses to “A short story about the art working”

  1. angelinabeadalina Says:

    Isn’t it wonderful when you get that connection to someone else? It means you’ve done an incredible job of conveying the feeling of that original painting! You gave me a similar “painting” bead, and I think it is absolutely gorgeous in a very painterly way!

  2. tracybeads Says:

    I love it Sheila! I thought the background was just random swirls until you showed the inspirational painting. Now I see they are an interpretation of swirling cherubs, wonderful. 🙂

  3. Sheila Morley Says:

    Thank you for sharing your insights.
    This past weekend, at a different show, I was reminded that this piece was called “Venus on a half shell”…see the
    shell in the painting? That is beautiful, and inspiring, especially for Goddess sculptors…
    Angie- I can imagine what you might make. Your sculptures with the flowing hair to the floor could be in a shell. The shell could be the pedestal. Tracy, one of your ladies on a shell would create an inspiring possibility for the future of the Oriental women (referencing the women as higher beings; unlike how things really are). Art is inspiring, and can help the world go round.

  4. loribeads Says:

    Oh wow, this is so beautiful! I am in awe.

  5. Sheila Morley Says:

    Thank you Lori! I am flattered.
    “Awe”, what a great feeling!


Leave a Reply

