Mothering and Artisting

Watch Me Create has moved!

Visit www.watchmecreate.com and continue to follow 14 artists as they blog about their work and creativity!

Don’t forget to bookmark the new location!

5 Responses to “Mothering and Artisting”

  1. Sheila Morley Says:

    Fabulous post! I totally relate to your feelings about time, and “quality” parenting! Being very obsessed with art time, and incorporating children time, is a challenge. Ruth makes a great model.
    Keeping my self confidence, is what helps me most. When I screw something up, I learn to fix it…I do not just let it be screwed up. I try to take confidence in my actions.
    You are on a wonderful part of the journey of life. Me too, we get to be the wise ones!

  2. Rosa Grob Says:

    I love this post! I do not feel lonely about the feelings I have, other mothers feel the same way, in my case, I have two lovely boys 7 and 4 years old. I really crave for time, and that time for me will better be for sleeping, at the end of the day I am so tired. I always have a hard time finding time to make my little fused glass beads, but that little time that I get very once in a while is very intense as intense as my whole day of struggling with my autistic 7 year old child, ours lives here are different but full of love and a lot of challenge.

  3. Terri Says:

    Thanks for the positive comments Sheila and Rosa! I ran across an interesting Asawa youtube clip from the San Jose Museum of Art–

    If you don’t have 8 minutes to spend watching the whole thing, skip to 5:20 in the clip, which is the start of an interview with Asawa’s oldest daughter about what it was like growing up in a home with “such a prolific and talented artist”. I found it inspiring!

  4. caroldodell Says:

    While art and mothering seem opposed when it comes to time–both bying for your attention–they really feed off each other. Mothering allowed (gave me permission) to play.

    I have three daughters and children take art seriously. You can stand in a room with them while you paint and they play, and they respect what you’re doing. It’s treated with an importance that not many adults allow other adults.
    To a child, there’s no such thing as silly art.
    All creating is to be honored.

    ~Carol D. O”Dell
    Author of Mothering Mother: A Daughter’s Humorous and Heartbreaking Memoir
    available on Amazon
    http://www.mothering-mother.com

  5. Terri Says:

    Carol,
    thanks for sharing your thoughts. you’re lucky that you’ve found your mothering experience feeds off your art and vice versa. I have not been so lucky — I pick up a paintbrush or beading needle and five minutes later there’s a crash in the next room. While my boys have LEARNED to respect time set aside for creativity, they are usually far too busy taking something apart, digging a pit in the front yard, or having a light saber battle to consciously notice that I’m engaged in the creative process. When it’s time for me to make art, I need to be sure someone else is standing watch so that I can relax into my work. I do trust that unconsciously the boys are getting the message that art is important — as they’ve gotten older they’ve become more accepting of my stints in the studio, but I think so much is dependent on the personality of your kids.


Leave a Reply

